Dabbling Babbling Mommy

Pre-Three-Three, One Month Down

Posted on: May 30, 2012

Well, it certainly has been quite a month! My commitment to the Pre-Three-Three quest has allowed for reflection and action in ways that I needed so badly considering all of the ambiguous life circumstances I have found myself in over the past year.

Some things on the list I completely neglected:

  • Get more haircuts
  • Prepare Chase for kindergarten
  • Unplug
  • Drink more water
  • Do yoga
  • Bake
  • Wash my face before bed

Other things are pending because they are dependant on external forces (specifically selling our house/buying a new one):

  • Make my own cleaning products
  • Start a garden
  • Convince Keith to get rid of one collection
  • Simplify
  • Organize

But this isn’t supposed to be a list of things I haven’t gotten around to (that’s just depressing); this is about accomplishing goals! So on to some highlights from this month:

  • Write
  • Find my career
  • Be confident

Move over Peggy Olsen! This morning I accepted a job offer for a copywriting position. It’s a new start, and sets my career on a new trajectory. I am nervous, but confident!

  • Own only things I need or love

I trashed more than half of my closet this month. (Well, donated, but that doesn’t have the same dramatic feel as “trashed” now does it?) Two pregnancies and food restrictions have caused dramatic changes in my size and shape, and so a large part of my wardrobe was not wearable. I hung on to some staples and things I loved, and will round out the rest over time. The new job will also demand some new threads!

  • Read

I have 3 books currently going… I am also listening to The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo. Does that count as reading?

  • Try Indian food

A friend of mine, after reading my list, insisted on taking me to a fantastic little Indian buffet near my house. I tried all sorts of wonderful things that I will never remember the names of if I need to place an order in a non-buffet restaurant. I also learned that Indian food is very popular in London (where I will be for 2 weeks in August for the Olympics…but more on that later).

  • Sing and dance regularly

Music has such a strong influence on my mood. So, in an effort to embrace silliness, I created a “fun” station on Pandora that encourages me to dance around my house, much to the enjoyment of anyone who happens to peak in my windows. I thought I was so clever with my station….and then I realized that it’s essentially just Radio Disney.

I’m hopeful that the next month will bring even more exciting changes (a house…please, please, please let it be a house). Do any of you have a “bucket list?” Leave a comment and share what’s on yours!

Leave a Reply

